Friday, 5 July 2013

Facebook Android App Backups Your Phone Number to Facebook Servers

As you may currently understand, when you establish a certain app on your Android apparatus the app needs some of your personal data. Some apps might be dangerous while others are innocuous. Well, fitting in the unsafe class is one of the most utilised submissions worldwide, namely the Facebook app for Android. no one knows why the app is doing this and for who, but its seems that Facebook for Android is taking people’s telephone number right from the instant they foremost open it. What’s poorer is that you don’t even have to log in for it to take your number and send it to the Facebook shops where it’s servers where it’s stored. 

This security flaw was found by the folks at Symantec (the company that makes the Norton security software) during a routine test, which they do on applications meant for mobile devices for their Mobile Insight application ( a mobile app that is able to detect privacy risks, malicious applications and intrusive behavior.

Symantec went to Facebook with the problem, who said that they did not have any knowledge of the issue. Facebook added that the phone numbers have not been used in any way and have been erased from their database. Furthermore, Symantec adds that there are many other apps that are doing this or even worse, not just Facebook. Although the security company doesn’t provide any specific app names, they say that more details will be offered in the following weeks.

Now coming back to Facebook, I’m not going to converse about conspiracy theories, but it’s very weird for an submission to take phone figures even though the users are not even logging in. In other phrases, even if you are not a Facebook client, and you are just curious about how it looks like, one time you download the app your number will be moved to the Facebook servers. No farther actions need to be presented, you just have to open the application one time.

If I can recall, this is not Facebook’s first security flaw, which makes you wonder if it’s actually worth utilising an application that doesn’t guarantee your privacy. I’m not saying that Facebook is doing this on reason, but I’m also not buying the need of “knowledge about the issue story.”

This serves as a reminder of the detail that people should be very careful when they install software on their devices, and they should habitually ascertain the app permissions, which can be effortlessly misused by the publisher. 


SOURCE: ANDROID.GS

0 comments:

Post a Comment